FM QUEST 2014 pt 2

Written by G. James-Weir

A semi-regular feature in which I use this blog as an excuses to indulge in my crippling addiction to Football Manager.


So I last left you on an almighty beast of a cliffhanger – Christmas of my first season, sitting in a not-too-bad 12th. So did I manage to over-perform, to climb into those play-off places or even -*deep breath* – the automatic promotion places?

In short – no.

Screen Shot 2015-06-16 at 13.56.19

A wealth of injuries to key players of my squad (one game in particular had me losing my Keeper and my AML, which led me to only have my under-21’s Keeper for 3 games) and the typical ‘losing games I really should be winning’ scenario I finished a fairly disappointing 15. Ok, so I was only expected to get a mid-table finish, but for me this is pretty poor. A little embarrassing maybe.

Utterly.

Average.

Upon finishing the season, I was met with this lovely news report:

Screen Shot 2015-06-18 at 13.52.24

Yup that’s me there, winning the race to be next in line to be sacked. Hardly surprising of course, but I can’t help feel hard done by since my board capped the wages pathetically low and did everything they could to stop be from strengthening the squad. My wage budget is now so constrained that I can’t offer any of my current players the wages they want for a new contract. See all these guys here?

Screen Shot 2015-06-12 at 13.42.37

That’s my entire First Team, all about to be available on a free. There’s maybe, 4 or 5 I’m happy to see go to free up some money, but that’ll only free up enough to offer these guys new contracts, not buy more players. A ‘total bastard’ of a situation to be in, I’m sure you’ll agree…BUT WAIT! A light emerges from the abyss that is my managerial career:

Screen Shot 2015-06-15 at 13.41.19

A masterclass in negotiation. I walked into that boardroom a Raptor, claws ready to cut some shit up, ready to open some fucking doors  and won though simple logic. Finally, I can bolster my squad with some better players. Sure, I can understand the boards concerns – loan players are a clutch with no real long-term benefits, but in terms of a quick fix for a financially vapid team, they’re vital. I assume given Solihull Moors’ location, I’ll be given either West Brom or Aston Villa as my choices, either would be fine but I think with West Brom I’ll have more chance of getting players over to me. Premiership youth players can be a little up themselves when it comes to dropping down leagues (West Brom were relegated last season in my game). However, it’s been a month since I had that talk with the board and I’m yet to hear anything from them…so that little drama will have to wait.

As for now, I’m totally shafted. Currently -£900 into my wage budget – and that’s after I’ve ditched all the dead weight – so signing anyone who’s even half decent is pretty much a no. I did put my negotiation skills to good use and got most of my good players to sign new contracts. Look at this shit:

Screen Shot 2015-06-25 at 13.23.20

So smooth that I’m covered in Veet permanently.

But that really is the only bright side. Check this out:

Screen Shot 2015-06-25 at 13.28.22Absolutely no chance at all here. Figured I might get a higher wage budget if I said I can push for promotion, but that is not enough to try and take that risk. I’ve got a really long and very difficult season ahead of me.

I suppose with luck, I might be able to do better this season with roughly the same squad providing I don’t get the injuries that plagued me. Maybe, just maybe with some luck I might be able to hit a solid mid-table position and by then the board might have sorted the finances out…and maybe I’ll get some wonderkid on loan…

…I’m fucked, aren’t I?

Leave a Reply

