one game a week 2015 – week two : Far Cry 4

Some words from my brain to yours about whatever game has been occupying my time over the last 7 days. Once a week, EVERY week for the duration of 2015. God help us.


 FAR CRY 4 (played on PS4)

The first time I went off the rails in Far Cry 4, I knew that this game was going to be something special. After towing the line for the first hour or so, following the story and obliging NPC’s requests to (among other things) kill wolves by firing burning arrows at oil barrels (classic), I decided it was finally time to make my own fun. To see what Kryat could offer me when I decided to do nothing in particular. Walking out of my safe house I spotted a Tuk Tuk and jumped behind the wheel. At this point I was slightly amazed that I could actually get into a Tuk Tuk. Nevertheless, I floored it, heading towards the trees I could see ahead that I presumed would be the edge of a forest.

It wasn’t. The trees masked the edge of a sheer drop. I hurtled off the edge at top speed (which probably wasn’t that fast considering I was driving a Tuk Tuk) and smashed into the tree-tops below, causing my vehicle to set on fire. I jumped out, falling from the vehicle as it set the trees ablaze. Before I hit the ground I triggered a random event : a handful of Golden Path members (the faction you align yourself with) were fighting a group of Royal Army soldiers below me and I could help out for some bonus XP. As I (and my burning Tuk Tuk) hit the ground, I whipped out my gun and prepared to shoot some mans. However, in Far Cry 4, fire spreads like shit on a sandwich, and before I could say “DIE YOU FUCKS” I had set everyone alight and all that was left for me to do was watch them, friends and enemies alike, burn to death. ‘Mission Complete’.

Within the next 2 hours of play I watched a rhino ram an enemy 4×4 off the road as I chased after them and later had my eyes gouged out by a hawk. Following this, I drowned while diving for treasure in an underground cavern and shot a fish out of the water with an RPG while hovering overhead in a one-man helicopter. Since then I’ve tracked snow leopards, honey badgers, Bengal tigers and a serial killer; embarked on a paraglide that saw me gracefully soar over the entire Southern part of the map only to smash into the side of a hut and kill myself during my descent; I’ve taken drugs and murdered my way through a hallucinatory quest that saw a white tiger act as my accomplice and just before bed last night I drove a quad bike off a cliff and tossed a grenade into a plane before parachuting to safety.

I’m 22 hours in and I’m only at 44% completion. Here’s to the next 22 hours, I’ve a feeling that it’s going to be excellent.

Leave a Reply

