My Shame

By Gav James-Weir

Quick admission: This post doesn’t really have anything to do with Dark Souls. Sorry to the 2 people that’ll disappoint.

I’ve now hit the magic 150 hours of Dark Souls 2. 150 hours of my life in one game. I’ve spent the past week just hanging around boss gates, waiting to be summoned to help other people (the amount of summons you get for Looking Glass Knight is RIDIC). I’m ok with this, why wouldn’t I be…look at me, I’m badass.

IMAG0116

But every glance over at my games shelf brings those 150 odd hours into a place of sadness and guilt. And not just because I own The Bourne Legacy game*.

IMAG0166

Yeah, I was the one who brought Trance on blu-ray. Sorry.

The list of games I have yet to complete is getting a little silly, so in order to tackle it I’m opening up here, in public, hoping it will force me into whittling this list down.

Here it is, my list of shame.

  • Aliens Colonial Marines
  • Chronicles of Riddick: Butcher Bay
  • Dragon’s Dogma
  • Deadly Premonition
  • Fallout New Vegas
  • Doom 3 BFG Edition
  • Lego Batman
  • Mirror’s Edge
  • Sleeping Dogs
  • Hitman Absolution
  • XCOM Enemy Unkown
  • Uncharted
  • Witcher 2
  • Legend of Zelda: A Link  Between Worlds
  • Pokemon Y

Man, that feels better.

I’ve at least started all of those games, but for various reasons not gone back. Aliens: CM can honestly get to fuck. I paid £3 for it and I still feel ripped off. Butcher Bay just became a slog towards the last once you get to the Assault on Dark Athena stuff, so it got pushed aside. Fallout New Vegas crashed and I lost a good 2 hours of wandering. Totally my fault of course, but I couldn’t face going back. Doom 3, completed it on the Xbox many moons ago, but I feel it deserves my attention. Deadly Premonition…I’m not fully convinced that I’ll ever actually complete this, as stupid and fun as it is, it is a horrible mess but I’d like to dive a little further into it’s madness.

Then the big guns. Dragon’s Dogma. I feel harsh that I just pushed this to one side after seeing people go nuts for it. I’m going to start this one fresh, new character (my Conan-style build in my initial game doesn’t seem to cut it). It always felt there was way more to this game and I’ll endeavour to find it this time.

Then XCOM. Oh, XCOM. I love you, but your tendency to drop Thin Men BEHIND my team makes me want to…well…stop playing.

Untitled-2

It can’t just be me who thinks the Thin Men bear a resemblance to Rainn Wilson, right?

I’ve stated playing it on my ipad (which is a stupidly good port) and I’m hooked again, so this will be my first game to cross off the list. Same as Dragon’s, I’ll start fresh to remove all the terrible choices I made first time. I might even go nuts and drop some cash on the expansion, watching Matt Lee’s Sponge Squad videos makes the additional stuff seem pretty essential…although this would add another game to the list, so no. Stop it.

No more games brought until I’ve at least completed the essentials on this list, namely Dragon’s Dogma, XCOM, Witcher 2 and Zelda: ALBW, then and only then can I get Diablo 3 without guilt. And a PS4 in preparation for Project Beast.

I’ll probably blog about them as I play too.

Right, I’m off to play XCOM.

*actually, this is my mate Joe’s. I borrowed it off him about 4 years ago and didn’t give it back…soz.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

